The Poplar Rowers
Poplar, Blackwall and District Rowing Club (PBDRC) was formed in 1845 and is believed to be the third oldest rowing club in Great Britain.
The club’s original name was The Blackwall Rowing and Athletic Club, with their headquarters in the Lifeboat Public House near the entrance to Blackwall Tunnel. In the late 1800s, however, the name was changed to Poplar and Blackwall United Rowing Club.
Shot using a mix of Digital and a Gandolfi 10×8 Field camera, this project gave us an amazing insight into a sports club with a rich history.
We were welcomed by the members and our early morning visits enables us to shoot with some beautiful light that encompasses this span of the thames and provided the perfect backdrop to watch the rowers in action.